Weather Tarot Prediction: How Will Hurricane Isaac Go?

As many of you know, Hurricane Isaac will soon be reaching New Orleans this week, coincidentally exactly seven years after the Hurricane Katrina tragedy.

To dive into a deeper look at this hurricane and to see a possible outcome, I decided to ask my Tarot Cards using the classic Rider-Waite deck. The cards I drew were:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The cards are: High Priestess, Hierophant Reversed, Ace of Cups Reversed, and 3 of Pentacles Reversed.  No particular spread was used, I simply ask the question and dealt the cards.

I actually only intended to draw three cards but I had the 3 of Pentacles Reversed fall out of the deck so that tells me that there is some significant energy of the 3 of Pentacles present.

The first thing that stood out to me when I saw these cards was the Hierophant Reversed and the 3 of Pentacles Reversed — it seems that perhaps despite warnings and recommendations by authorities people will not make the proper precautions.  There is a lack of really working together here.  It’s as if people aren’t or won’t be quite doing as they should be in some way.  The Ace of Cups Reversed is quite interesting as well — and it makes me wonder about New Orlean’s new levy that they set up after Katrina.

I hate to say it, but to be completely honest and sum up what my initial reaction was, I can’t help but get the impression that they haven’t quite prepared as much as they could have since Katrina 7 years ago.  The Ace of Cups R has water coming down from the top (as New Orleans is a city already below sea level).  Then the High Priestess I felt was a strong indicator to really “trust your intuition”.  I’d predict that there is going to be flooding in at least some areas but they aren’t fully preparing for them by evacuating.

But, of course, this could very easily be interpreted many different ways.  For those who are regular tarot readers, beginners or even complete novices — what is your interpretation of these cards?

Personally, I find this to be quite an interesting combination so I’m really looking forward to the different interpretations here!

 

——–

Need Guidance?  Book a Tarot Reading today starting as low as $15!

About Jennifer Twardowski

Jennifer is a graduate student in transpersonal counseling psychology. Her interests are in personality typology (MBTI, Enneagram, Jungian typology), expressive arts, dreams, yoga, tarot and oracle cards, world religions, dance, photography, gardening, floral design, and more!

Posted on August 28, 2012, in Reading Tarot, Tarot and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Very interesting! I see the Hierophant reversed as a lack of leadership, and along with the reversed Three of Pentacles, I would say that it will be quite chaotic. No-one seems to be working together to deal with the potential impact of the hurricaine and everyone’s energy is going off in different directions rather than coming together to tackle the primary issue.

    The thing I noticed with the Ace of Cups were all those rain drops – lots of them! But, interesting that this card is reversed. I wonder if the rain and the ‘wet’ won’t be as bad as people think. The storm may lose a bit of steam before it reaches land or larger populations.

    Thanks for sharing this. I don’t think I’ve ever done a reading on the weather before!

  2. I do get the sense of disorganisation regarding the evacuation of New Orleans and certain areas of Luisiana not a lot can be predicted regarding exactly what and where in this area will be hit the worst, i get a large sense of frustration regarding this.

    The reversed Ace of Cups, i do not read reverse cards but what stood out is all the water in the card being at the top even the overflowing cup will be affected by the gravity calling it. I am thinking perhaps a large downfall is imminent perhaps some flooding although i sincerely hope that this is not the case and that there is little damage.

    Thank you

  3. There is a lunar connection with the High Priestess. I don’t know anything about the connection between hurricanes and lunar phases but it would probably be worth looking into.

    • Interesting point! Isn’t there the second full moon of August coming this week? I don’t remember the exact day now, but that probably causes a high-tide. Looking into how that impacts a hurricane would definitely be something to look up! Thanks for your input! 🙂

  4. Hurricaine Katrina was headed straight toward New Orleans 7 years ago, and then it veered east towards MS.

  1. Pingback: The Challenge of Trusting Your Own Intuition « Lotus Tarot Blossom

Leave a Reply

