Why You Should Never Say “I Don’t Have Time”

Have you ever said “I don’t have time?”

Have you ever been stressed out because you’ve felt like “You didn’t have enough time in the day to get everything done”?

I’m sure you have at some point or another, in fact, I’ll even admit that I have more times that I would like to admit, but it is a train of thought that our ego-driven minds like to lead us to as humans.

I came across a quote a while back that basically made the point of: Did famous and successful people have more time than you?  Of course not, so you should never say that you don’t have enough time — everyone has been given the exact same tools, we just have to utilize them most efficiently for ourselves.

Now, from a psychological standpoint I find this cycle that we often place ourselves in to be rather interesting.  We say to ourselves or those around us “I don’t have enough time” yet the paradox is that the thought itself is what causes a greater separation from the present moment. Well silly, of course you don’t think that you have enough time… because you’re wasting all of your precious time by worrying and thinking that you don’t have time! (I have stopped and told myself this on a few cases, upon a quick realization).

The truth is that we are supposed to live for the moment.  We are supposed to take things in, experience it, and move on to the next thing.  We are not supposed to attach ourselves to people or things.  We are not supposed to dwell on emotional disappointments and hurts.  We are only supposed to experience them in the moment, accept them, and move on to the next experience with optimism.

Perhaps some of you may be able to remember back what life was like as a young child.  At a young age, when we still looked to the world with curiosity and endless possibilities, we spent our days playing with toys after toys.  It was exciting to dig a hole outside.  We loved riding in a wagon to the grocery store.  And if we ever fell down, we cried and let it all out and then moved on to the next thing.  We never started crying 2 days later about the bruise on our knee — heck, that was in the past!  So why does it matter, right?  It was at those ages when the days felt long, we were content, and felt rather fulfilled, despite we didn’t actually do all that much activity (as far as “work” goes).

Perhaps this is one of the concepts that was missed in “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People” is this: That those with the most success in life and positive impact for humanity are those that, not only know how to manage time effectively, but live in the cycle of: take in the moment, experience it, and move on to the next thing.  It’s a matter of living with an eye of continuous curiosity and adventure and to not focus on any one thing for too long.

Yes, that may sound a bit ADD or ADHD, but aside from popular belief it is actually a positive way of living.  I can say from experience that you feel much more alive and overall fulfilled. And, as a result, you become even more intuitively in-tune because you are living so much in every single moment.

Now, I’ll admit, it’s been easier for me to become re-attached to this way of being when I’m really doing things I enjoy (like exploring a different country and culture while I’m on vacation), but nevertheless it is still possible to be achieved in day to day life.

I know this is certainly much more easier said than done at times, especially once you are already on the self-defeating cycle, but if you take a day of “I just want to adventure and enjoy X, Y, and Z and I want to be so busy and occupied with it that I have no time to think” it can have a very positive effect on you.

——-

Need Guidance?  Book a Tarot Reading today starting as low as $15!

About Jennifer Twardowski

Jennifer is a graduate student in transpersonal counseling psychology. Her interests are in personality typology (MBTI, Enneagram, Jungian typology), expressive arts, dreams, yoga, tarot and oracle cards, world religions, dance, photography, gardening, floral design, and more!

Posted on August 21, 2012, in Happiness, Mind, Psychology, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogging Award. 🙂 Congratulations!

    http://stayforaspell.wordpress.com/2012/08/21/2-awards/

  2. I find I put off doing that which I dislike doing, such as the Ironing, LOL… But find the time for things I love to do, We can always make the time,,, But it depends upon what you have to cram into a day.. My excuse is My Days are never long enough as I cram in so much.. Just found the time to visit you and see who was following me at Dreamwalker’s Sanctuary .. Thank you so much..
    Wishing you well upon your journey and Im sure I will find the time to drop by again.. Love and Light to you ..
    Sue

    • Definitely! Coincidentally, that’s exactly what I’ve been reflecting on at the moment is to shift my focus to be more engaged and enjoy the things that I don’t like doing! lol I know that’ll it will help with balance overall, but it’s just a challenge to get and stay positively motivated.

      • You will… the problem at the moment is that there is such a lot of energy around and so many distractions.. I have found shutting out the Media and TV in our lives help us focus.. Going outside in the fresh air.. Once upon a time, every thing used to have to be done on a certain day by a given time..
        Time isnt as important now as the quality of the MOMENT… So enjoy that which you Do..
        Love and Blessings to you.. Sue

Leave a Reply

