A Secret Cure to Co-dependency: Cord Cutting

These past few weeks via dream messages and symbols I’ve felt the pull to explore Angels and Angel healing.  For any of those who are familiar with anything metaphysical may know, Doreen Virtue’s materials are virtually the epitome of learning all things about connecting to and working with Angels for healing purposes.  So I’ve purchased one of her books and have ordered one of her oracle decks.

The other day I studied and read her information about “cord cutting”.  Cord cutting is basically a way that we can “cut cords” with people in our lives who we have (or had) toxic relationships with.  Basically, any person who has the desire to rely on someone else for their happiness is, to some degree, a co-dependent trait.  There are many books currently available on how to free yourself of co-dependency and many of these books and articles I have read at some point.  However, the trouble I have noticed with the majority of materials available are these two things:

  1. Despite “setting boundaries” people still tend to naturally act out of their ego by holding on to anger in their actions.  They struggle to really forgive the person — and even after they have cried and have followed the instructions they’ve been told to “forgive” they still experience negative energy.
  2. The person is still unable to provide happiness for themselves.  Even though they have set boundaries, they are still filled with negative energy and have trouble finding inner balance in order to achieve happiness and feel genuine love in their hearts.

Why is this?  The answer goes beyond what our conscious minds can be aware of because it is an unconscious occurrence.  What happens is this: Even though we have made actions to remove ourselves from this person and attempt to make inner changes, we still feel negative energy because we are still unconsciously connected to this person.  This “connection” can be referred to as the “cord” and hence why this is called “cord cutting”.  Because this involves energy work beyond our mind’s control, we have to look to spirit for assistance.

We can cut our cords by calling upon our angels and Archangel Michael.  The process can be done fairly quickly and it can be done in a short meditation and by paying attention close attention to the feelings and sensations around you.  Doreen Virtue also points out that after a cord cutting, you may also receive messages from those you have “cut your cord” from because they will think of you, but not be consciously sure why.

I actually tried out this “cord cutting” ritual/meditation for myself the other night.  I felt very much so at peace afterward and I actually slept better that night than I had in a long time.  In fact, my dreams were very balanced and, in my dream, I felt that I had almost an “angelic mother” near me to help guide.

Coincidentally, just as Doreen forewarned, I did receive a couple messages the next morning from people and they really didn’t have any reason to send a message.

About Jennifer Twardowski

Jennifer is a graduate student in transpersonal counseling psychology. Her interests are in personality typology (MBTI, Enneagram, Jungian typology), expressive arts, dreams, yoga, tarot and oracle cards, world religions, dance, photography, gardening, floral design, and more!

Posted on August 7, 2012, in Angels, Emotions, Happiness, Love, Psychic and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Which of Doreen Virtue’s angel oracle decks did you order? She has so many and they all look very interesting. Let me know! Also, I’ve used cord cutting very effectively in the past with some folks that I just needed to break away from. However, I also noticed that those relationships that were particularly strong in any sense took a couple of cord cutting meditations/visualizations to really feel the break from them. Another great post!

    • It is quite difficult to decide amongst all her decks! After looking around I decided to order the Angel Therapy deck. I’ll do a post once I receive them and play around with them a bit.

      I have felt today a need to do a few more cord cutting meditations because I was feeling that “pull” come back again after receiving messages. So I would agree that it’s important to do a few meditations/visualizations over a few days. Glad to see that you enjoyed my post! 🙂

  1. Pingback: What To Do When You Forsee a Future Event « Lotus Tarot Blossom

Leave a Reply

