Following Your Intuition: It’s Not Always Smooth Sailing

One of my biggest struggles of my early 20s and has been the internal struggle of trusting my intuition.  Since a young age, I’ve always had strong sense of potential outcomes of situations and relationships.  While growing up this has certainly proven to be of good use because I’ve managed to avoid many troubling and bad situations that my peers would experience.  Some examples would include: never being involved in any serious car accident, never being involved in an abusive relationship, never had any serious financial issue, never quite finding myself in any bad situations in general.  One could perhaps logically argue that this could be the result of a certain degree of morals and a feeling need to “protect oneself”.  However, I can say from a personal perspective that I’ve always felt like I’ve been walking around with this strong guide pointing me to what direction is okay and what is not okay — and it’s a direction not based on any personal “value” system by any means, hence also why I have yet to ever really label myself under any religion or political party — intuitively I’ve always felt something very limiting by creating an identity or belief under either.

Now I’m not saying all of this in trying to make a point that I still don’t have any blocks and issues that I have to work through to grow, because I know that I certainly do (as everyone does, hence why we are living now) but my point is rather to make a point of the challenge that it can be in completely following your intuition and higher self.

I must say, that it does get rather tricky at times when living through this inner guide.  In one regard, I have felt very appreciative of somehow easily having this strong connection so that I can avoid any major trouble.  Yet, it can and has also caused a lot of stress and inner battles in questioning whether these little senses within me are really worth trusting.

One of my biggest struggles has been the feeling a strong intuitive sense with either a past friend or a past boyfriend upon meeting them and then the relationship later falling down hill.  Though I will admit that I felt a sense of “This won’t last a X period of time because of X obstacle that will surface with one or both of us”, it would still ultimately lead me to an inner war of “If I felt THIS STRONG of a sense with this person, then why on earth was it so heartbreaking and hurtful?”  I’ve also had this occur with major life decisions, such as work, as well where even though I truly felt this was the right direction to go it lead to some major challenges and hurtful emotions.  This would lead me to wonder: Was my intuition even right?  Looking at this result, is this really worth trusting in?

One thing that I’ve finally realized with a sense of peace is this: Yes, my intuitive guide was right but just because I am following it does not or ever will guarantee a positive outcome.  We follow our intuition in order to be lead to the challenges and obstacles that will shift us to become more of our higher selves.  In order to truly follow with complete faith, we must all remember this because otherwise we may easily become frustrated and shut ourselves off from this inner guide.  Just because we are now following our intuition doesn’t mean that everything will now magically work out better for you.  It just means that you are now on the right path for yourself at this point in time — and the amount of challenges may vary greatly upon each individual.  These differences are things that can go far beyond what our minds and comprehend, so any one “tried and true” logical method to decipher is not always going to be consistent.

In fact, it’s likely that even when we are following our intuition that we receive even greater challenges from the universe in order to test our faith and strength in our guides.  These challenges come in order to make us stronger.  As one saying goes: God will never give you anything that you can’t handle.

So now your probably wondering: Then how do I know if I’m following my intuition or not?  I’ve personally found that deciphering between the two can be made by looking within yourself and asking: Do I feel stagnant or do I feel that I’m making progress?  If you feel like you are growing and feel a good sense of “aliveness” then you are on an intuitive path.  If you feel like your on a cycle of stagnancy then you are not.  Often if you are not then it’s also likely that you’ll have health issues arise and other problems that pop up to give you a “wake up call” that you need to listen to your intuition.

About Jennifer Twardowski

Jennifer is a graduate student in transpersonal counseling psychology. Her interests are in personality typology (MBTI, Enneagram, Jungian typology), expressive arts, dreams, yoga, tarot and oracle cards, world religions, dance, photography, gardening, floral design, and more!

Posted on July 13, 2012, in Happiness, Intuition, Psychic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

