Reading Tarot Card Reversals

To read the reversal or not read the reversal?  These seems to be a continuous debate between tarot readers and everyone seems to have their own opinion as to which way is best.

Personally, I’ve found that through having readings done by some that do read reversals, others that don’t read reversals, and my own experimentation in reading tarot — there is no solid yes or no answer.  I’ve had readers miss details of my situations by not reading the reversal, but I’ve also had readers miss details who did read the reversal.

Do I read reversals?  The answer:  Yes and no, as I’ve found that it depends on the context of the question and the spread being used.  For instance, if I’m using a Celtic Cross spread, this spread is predominantly used to explain the external information of a person’s situation (only a card or two REALLY goes into what is going on with them and others around them on the inside) then I will definitely read the reversals.  However, if I made up a spread or am looking at the cards in a spread that are directed to understanding what this person needs to inwardly overcome (a good example would be a card to represent a person’s “challenge” or “advice”), then I focus predominantly on the true nature of the card but I kind of make a bit of a mental note that it was reversed, as then I keep in mind that this development may be more difficult for them.

Overall, I’ve found that it’s certainly not one of those things that can be fully mentally grasped by the linear mind, as it is something that we can really only sense and pick up on intuitively as to which direction the energies are at the moment.  Though, I will admit, some concrete knowledge in psychology can certainly help to fully understand and have empathy for what is really going on on an inner level.

Perhaps if I manage to discover some tried-and-true method for myself that I can explain in detail how it works for certain questions asked in a spread, then I’ll add more of my thoughts on this subject.  For now, if anyone would like to tell me their experience for discussion that would be greatly appreciated. 🙂

About Jennifer Twardowski

Jennifer is a graduate student in transpersonal counseling psychology. Her interests are in personality typology (MBTI, Enneagram, Jungian typology), expressive arts, dreams, yoga, tarot and oracle cards, world religions, dance, photography, gardening, floral design, and more!

Posted on June 21, 2012, in Reading Tarot, Tarot and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

