How to Structure Questions for Tarot Readings

I’ve experimented with tarot for several years now.  I’ve read for myself and for others.  I’ve read for some friends casually in-person and have read for several online for people I have not personally known.  I’ve gone through spouts of trying to test my intuition to the max where I asked people to not tell me anything about their situation and to see what I pick up.  I’ve also gone through spouts where I’ve asked people to tell me a lot about their situation.  I’ve done general readings to see what things I can intuitively pick up.  I’ve done readings asking very specific inner and outer variables of situations.

One thing that I’ve learned through all of this experimentation is this: You need to give a solid structured question to ask the cards for the best accuracy and understanding.  Now, this is not to say by any means that the cards are necessarily “wrong” because I have yet to see them as “wrong”.  I’ve asked the cards general questions for myself and have also asked general questions for others.  The results that I’ve always seen with this is that the cards do certainly tell me what is going on, but it can very easily become non-helpful because the cards will tell things that are not necessarily relevant at this time.  For instance, I make ask the cards: When will Alice get over her current issue?  As the reader, I don’t know if this is love, career, financial, or friendship related.  I may see that there is a Knight of Pentacles in this reading.  This Knight may very well represent Alice’s current boyfriend to the T but her boyfriend is not relevant to this question and, as a result, the reading starts to steer off course from what the client was actually asking about.

The lesson comes in that the cards are going to tell you only what you ask of it.  If you ask a general non-specific question then you are going to get a general answer of you or the querent’s current life situation.

Here are some guidelines that I like to follow (as of now, this may change) that can help you in getting the best reading:

1.  Specify what area of your life you are asking about.  If you are asking about love, then the cards most likely will only tell you about your love life.  If you are asking about career, then the cards will tell you about your career.  It will avoid energies from other areas of your life coming into the reading.

2.  Don’t be general in asking a question of “When will I get over my current struggle?”  You need to ask what this struggle is exactly because, in all reality, you may have several struggles going on in your life that the universe knows you are dealing with.  If you ask this question, the universe is going to tell you about all of them rather than the one that you would like to know about.  How can the universe know which one you are referring to exactly unless you specify?

3.  If you want a truly deeper more spiritual or psychological reasoning and understanding of the area then you need to ask questions that are deep in nature.  Card spreads like the celtic cross are great, but they are set up to only tell the reader and the querent only the current external variables of the situation (much of which you may already know yourself).  Therefore, if you really want to know how a person in your life currently truly feels then ask something like “What is Alex’s current block?” or “What is Alex’s current challenge?”.  However, by asking these deeper questions a much deeper understanding of the cards as well as a lot of empathy without judgment is also needed by the reader (just a heads up for anyone who is doing this on their own and they’re just starting out with tarot).

If you keep this simple guidelines in mind, then you will get get a reading with the full clarity that you desire.

Blessings,

Jennifer

About Jennifer Twardowski

Jennifer is a graduate student in transpersonal counseling psychology. Her interests are in personality typology (MBTI, Enneagram, Jungian typology), expressive arts, dreams, yoga, tarot and oracle cards, world religions, dance, photography, gardening, floral design, and more!

Posted on June 14, 2012, in Reading Tarot, Tarot and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

